Procrastinationus Maximus

Blog is where you procrastinate. Home of ridiculous imaginary projects, land of embarrassment.

Here I am, making spoof songs instead of writing about music ontology.

But it is sort of related to all that. See in class a few weeks back we were talking about Platonic ontological conceptions of music whereby the creative process of composing music is more like discovering pre-existing sound structures. Where might these forms be? In Platonic Heaven of course (which sounds like a place one would like to go when one dies).

So I imagined composers having privileged access to this realm of Forms while still breathing– hanging out, shuffling around, shopping for tunes.

Then I found myself humming “Heaven, I’m in Platonic heaven…”

Then this happened:

Heaven, I’m in Platonic Heaven

And my heart beats so that I can better steal

And I seem to find the sound structures I seek

When I’m up here plagiarizing in Platonic heaven
Heaven, I’m in Platonic heaven

All I do is pick random notes through the week

And I seem to have the gambler’s lucky streak

When I’m up here plagiarizing in Platonic heaven

Oh I’d love to compose a song

Write a single melody

But it doesn’t thrill me half as much

As plagiarizing in heaven

Oh I’d love to create anything

Rather than “discovering”

But I don’t enjoy that half as much

As finding free shit up here

Come on let’s hear applause

I want your palms ahurting

You ears apounding

When you hear my tune

In heaven, I’m in Platonic heaven…
***

And finally this embarrassing thing happened in my bathroom. The real star being the ventilation in the background:
:)

https://soundcloud.com/vena-clitoridis/platonic-heaven/s-4RCME

Leave a Reply

